Foundations of the Green Card System

Objective

Liability and insurance regulations as well as settlement practice in the individual European states show considerable differences. Any harmonization is hardly to be expected. And it could be assumed even less in the past. Nevertheless, there was a need to facilitate international cross-border traffic and, at the same time, ensure the protection of road accident victims.

Two objectives were in the forefront:

  • Cross-border road traffic within Europe was to be facilitated by dispensing with the obligation to procure the insurance coverage prescribed for the visited country by taking out an insurance policy to this effect at the border.
  • No road accident victim was to be put at a disadvantage by the fact that the damage incurred to him or her was caused by a foreign motor vehicle.
History

At the suggestion of Switzerland, the Geneva-based Inland Transport Committee of the UN Economic Commission for Europe attended to the above-mentioned objective. Therefore, in May 1948, a Sub-Committee on Road Transport was established. Modelled on a system introduced in Scandinavia, this sub-committee developed a uniform insurance certificate (the International Insurance Green Card).

By virtue of this certificate, a motorist crossing the border is treated as if he or she were insured according to the conditions of the visited country to the extent prescribed.

On this basis, in 1949, UN Recommendation No. 5 of 25 January 1949, addressed to governments, was adopted. It contains the guidelines for the Green Card System.

Contents of UN Recommendation No. 5 and agreements resulting from it

In each participating country, motor insurers create a central organization, the so-called Bureau, which is recognized by the government of the respective country and responsible for carrying out the tasks of the Green Card System.

Each national Green Card Bureau fulfils a double function. It issues international insurance certificates (of green colour – hence the name “Green Card”) to its members (motor liability insurers), which make them available to their customers (motorists).

This implies the guarantee for reimbursement of the claims expenditure incurred in the case of a foreign claim (function of Paying Bureau).

At the same time, the Bureau is obliged to settle any claim caused by a foreign motor vehicle provided with a Green Card in its area of competence (function of Handling Bureau).

Settlement takes place according to the laws and regulations of the visited country, so that it is ensured that the road accident victim always receives compensation according to his or her accustomed national standard.

The rights and obligations of the Bureaux are stipulated in an international agreement, the Internal Regulations, which are based not only on the UN Recommendation, but also on the EU directives issued to this effect.

Volume and scope

The Green Card System is a system limited to Europe and the countries bordering the Mediterranean. Currently the system comprises 46 countries, including four non-European countries.

Council of Bureaux (CoB)

The CoB is the umbrella organization of the national Bureaux domiciled in Brussels and in charge of the administration and the functioning of the Green Card System. It is operating under the auspices of the UN (Sub-Committee on Road Transport of the Inland Transport Committee of the Economic Commission in Geneva).

The CoB comprises all Bureaux of those countries which participate in the Green Card System.

Comments are closed

Grundlagen des Grüne-Karte-Systems

Zielsetzung

Haftungs- und Versicherungsbestimmungen sowie die Regulierungspraxis in den einzelnen europäischen Staaten weisen erhebliche Unterschiede auf. Eine Harmonisierung ist kaum zu erwarten. Und davon war in der Vergangenheit erst recht nicht auszugehen. Dennoch bestand die Notwendigkeit, den internationalen grenzüberschreitenden Verkehr zu erleichtern und zugleich den Verkehrsopferschutz sicherzustellen.

Zwei Ziele standen dabei im Vordergrund:

  • Der grenzüberschreitende Straßenverkehr innerhalb Europas sollte durch die Entbindung von der Pflicht, an der Grenze den für das Besuchsland vorgeschriebenen Versicherungsschutz durch Abschluss einer entsprechenden Versicherungspolice zu beschaffen,  vereinfacht  werden.
  • Kein Verkehrsopfer sollte dadurch benachteiligt werden, dass der ihm entstandene Schaden durch ein ausländisches Kraftfahrzeug verursacht wurde.
Historie

Auf Anregung der Schweiz nahm der „Ausschuss für Landverkehr der Europäischen Wirtschaftskommission“ der UNO in Genf sich der zuvor aufgeführten Zielsetzung an. Deshalb wurde im Mai 1948 ein Unterausschuss für Straßenverkehr gegründet. Nach dem Vorbild eines in Skandinavien eingeführten Systems wurde von diesem Unterausschuss ein einheitliches Versicherungszertifikat (die Internationale Grüne Versicherungskarte) entwickelt.

Aufgrund dieser Bescheinigung wird der Kraftfahrer mit Grenzübertritt so angesehen, als sei er nach den Bedingungen des besuchten Landes in vorgeschriebenem Umfang versichert.

Auf dieser Basis wurde 1949 die UNO-Empfehlung Nr. 5 vom 25. Januar 1949, die sich an die Regierungen richtete, verabschiedet. In ihr sind die Richtlinien des Grüne Karte-Systems enthalten.

Inhalt der UNO-Empfehlung Nr. 5 und daraus resultierende Abkommen

In jedem teilnehmenden Land wird von den Kfz-Versicherern eine zentrale Organisation, das sogenannte Bureau, geschaffen, die von der Regierung dieses Landes anerkannt wird und die zuständig ist für die Durchführung der Aufgaben des Grüne Karte-Systems.

Jedes nationale Grüne Karte-Bureau erfüllt eine doppelte Funktion. Es gibt internationale Versicherungsbescheinigungen (Farbe grün – daher die Bezeichnung Grüne Karte), an seine Mitglieder (Autohaftpflichtversicherer) aus, die mit diesen ihre Kunden (die Kraftfahrer) ausstatten.

Damit verbunden ist die Garantie für die Rückerstattung der bei einem Auslandsschaden angefallenen Schadenaufwendungen (Funktion des Zahlenden Bureaus).

Das Bureau ist zugleich verpflichtet, den Schadenfall zu bearbeiten, der durch ein mit einer Grünen Karte versehenes ausländisches Kraftfahrzeug in seinem Zuständigkeitsbereich verursacht wurde (Funktion des Behandelnden Bureaus).

Die Regulierung erfolgt entsprechend den Gesetzen und Verordnungen des Besuchslandes, so dass sichergestellt ist, dass das Verkehrsopfer stets nach seinem gewohnten nationalen Standard Entschädigung erhält.

Die Rechte und Pflichten der Büros sind geregelt in einem internationalen Abkommen, den Internal Regulations, das sich neben der UNO-Empfehlung auf die diesbezüglich ergangenen EU-Richtlinien stützt.

Volumen und Anwendungsbereich

Das Grüne Karte-System ist ein auf Europa und die Mittelmeeranrainer-Staaten begrenztes System. Gegenwärtig gehören dem System 46 Länder an, einschließlich vier außereuropäischer Länder.

Council of Bureaux (CoB)

Der CoB ist die Dachorganisation der nationalen Bureaux mit Sitz in Brüssel und zuständig für die Verwaltung und das Funktionieren des Grüne Karte-Systems. Er steht unter der Schirmherrschaft der UNO (Unterausschuss für Straßenverkehr des Binnenverkehrsausschusses der Wirtschaftskommission) in Genf.

Dem CoB gehören alle Bureaux derjenigen Länder an, die am Grünen Karte-System teilnehmen.

Kommentare sind geschlossen.