Claim settlement / settlement practice

Competence

If the prerequisites are met, DBGK assumes the obligations of a third party liability insurer for a foreign motor vehicle in Germany. This is the case on the basis of a Green Card or on the basis of the licence plate number for motor vehicles from those countries for which the obligation to carry proof of insurance (Green Card) has been dispensed with. This applies to motor vehicles from Member States of the European Union including Andorra, Iceland, Norway, Serbia and Switzerland.

Therefore, DBGK may be claimed against like a third party liability insurer.

Normally, DBGK does not settle the claim by itself, but delegates the settlement of the claim to an insurance company (member) or a private claims settlement organization, these intervening on behalf of DBGK. In assigning claim settlement, consideration has to be given to existing “correspondence agreements” between domestic and foreign insurance companies.

Liability to be sued

If DBGK – as stated above – has assumed the obligations of a third party liability insurer, it may also be sued (Sect. 6, para. 1 of the Law on Compulsory Insurance for Foreigners [AuslPflVersG], Sect. 115 of the Law Concerning the Insurance Contract [VVG]).

Liability to be sued does not apply to member companies/claims settlement agencies entrusted with the settlement. Besides that, there is of course a right to direct action vis-à-vis the driver, the owner and the insurer of the foreign vehicle.

Agent authorized to receive any communications

DBGK acts as an agent authorized to receive any communications only on behalf of the vehicle owner (Green Card holder), but not on behalf of other insureds, such as the foreign insurer or the driver, if not identical with the owner.

If, for procedural reasons, the driver is to be sued as a joint respondent, the action directed against him has to be served at his place of residence, i. e. normally abroad.

Comments are closed

Schadenabwicklung / Regulierungspraxis

Zuständigkeit

Bei Vorliegen der Voraussetzungen übernimmt das DBGK die Pflichten eines Haftpflichtversicherers für ein ausländisches Kfz in Deutschland. Das ist der Fall auf der Grundlage einer Grünen Karte bzw. auf der Basis des amtlichen Kennzeichens für Kfz aus solchen Ländern, für die die Pflicht zum Mitführen eines Versicherungsnachweises (Grüne Karte) entfallen ist. Das trifft zu für die Kfz aus den Mitgliedstaaten der Europäischen Union einschließlich Andorra, Island, Kroatien, Norwegen, Serbien sowie die Schweiz.

Deshalb kann das DBGK wie ein Haftpflichtversicherer in Anspruch genommen werden.

In aller Regel wickelt das DBGK den Schadenfall nicht selbst ab, sondern teilt einem Versicherungsunternehmen (Mitglied) oder auch einer privaten Schadenregulierungsorganisation mit, dass es den Schadenfall zu Lasten des ausländischen Bureaus oder des ausländischen Haftpflichtversicherers abwickeln soll. Bei der Zuteilung der Schadenabwicklung sind bestehende „Korrespondenzabkommen“ zwischen inländischen und ausländischen Versicherungen zu berücksichtigen.

Passivlegitimation

Sofern das DBGK – wie oben dargelegt – die Pflichten eines Haftpflichtversicherers übernommen hat, kann es auch verklagt werden (§§ 6 Abs. 1 AuslPflVersG, 115 VVG). Es ist also passiv legitimiert.

Nicht passiv legitimiert sind die mit der Abwicklung beauftragten Mitgliedsunternehmen/Schadenregulierungsbüros. Daneben besteht selbstverständlich der Direktanspruch gegen Fahrer, Halter und Versicherer des ausländischen Fahrzeugs.

Zustellungsbevollmächtigung

Das DBGK ist nur zustellungsbevollmächtigt für den Fahrzeug-Halter (Inhaber der Grünen Karte), nicht aber für weitere Versicherte wie z.B. den ausländischen Versicherer oder den Fahrer, wenn dieser mit dem Halter nicht identisch ist.

Soll der Fahrzeugführer aus prozessualen Gründen mitverklagt werden, muss die gegen ihn gerichtete Klage an dessen Wohnort, also im Regelfall im Ausland zugestellt werden.

Kommentare sind geschlossen.